Meet my new friend, Eggplant

Hello my new friend. Can’t say I’ve really gotten to know Eggplant too well. I think I always brushed it off because it was purple – a color I adore in clothing but in my food is slightly strange. It might harp back to when the Raven’s won the Super Bowl back in 2001 (I’m a Baltimore local at heart) and everything was dyed purple for like a month straight. It was weird…and perhaps a little traumatizing.

So in an effort to try new things I picked up that little guy from Trader Joe’s yesterday. I remember reading a fried eggplant recipe in an issue of Real Simple magazine. I tried to remember the basics of it from memory and here’s what resulted. Oh and please don’t judge my kitchen, it’s from the 70’s but it’s what I get to deal with on a grad student budget.

Main line up: Eggplant, Baby Spinach, TJ’s basil pesto, mini heirloom tomatoes, and Chevre goat cheese

Supporting cast: (for a serving size of 2) 1/2 cup flour, 1 egg, 1/2 cup Panko bread crumbs, 2tbsp Vegetable oil, Sea Salt, and Pepper

Showtime: Chop up the eggplant into 1/2 inch slices. Dredge them in flour, egg, and then bread crumbs. Then place them in a hot oiled pan cooking them until golden brown (2-3 min per side). After cooking, sprinkle the hot eggplant with salt and pepper.

Curtain call: Now it’s time to make these little guys into amazing sandwiches. Spread some pesto on each side, then top with sliced tomatoes, spinach, and goat cheese. Viola!

Crispy, cheesy, veggie-filled dinner. Eggplant you are my new favorite friend 🙂


This entry was posted in Deliciously Addicting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meet my new friend, Eggplant

  1. Suzanne Preis says:

    Lindsey…love your blog. Your photography is spectacular! Makes me hungry just looking at the pics. Love, Aunt Suzi

  2. Wow, I bet that was SOOOOO good. I love fried eggplant!

Leave a Reply

