Oatmeal, it’s what all the cool kids are doing

Those of you who are in the foodie and healthy living blog network are well aware of the oatmeal obsession. But as someone new to the blog world, I am a little late on the oatmeal craze. Until a year ago I was a true blue cereal lover. I was totally oblivious to the fact that sodium, sugar, and loads of other preservatives were sneaking in my favorite Frosted Mini Wheats. I thought I was being “healthy” because (a) I was eating breakfast and (b) I was choosing things with fiber. And because this was before I started looking at the nutrition facts, I figured anything with fiber and low-fat was “good” for me.

I never questioned my love for cereal until I got a trainer for my wedding. Her first food swap suggestion was switching my morning cereal for oatmeal. So I switched (of course there was a lot of complaining and grumbling under my breath), but I switched. At first I opted for instant oatmeal, and not the plain kind either. I only wanted the sugar-laden maple syrup or cinnamon raisin kind. The next step was to add blueberries – I seriously felt super healthy then.

Then I found Kath’s blog. This girl had taken oatmeal to a new level. She was adding nut butters I had never heard of, homemade granola, chia seeds, bananas, berries, nuts, jams, and even topping it with freshly baked bread. This was mind boggling to me. All I saw was carbs upon carbs upon carbs, and was that fatty peanut butter she added in there? This can’t be good for me….right? It just looks too good to be true.

Now I am fully riding the oatmeal bandwagon. It keeps me full ALL morning long (I was always starving by 10:30 before). In addition, I’m not ravenous when lunch rolls around so I’m not scarfing down my meal in seconds. And the best is that it’s actually healthy for me and not loaded with salt, sugar, and other nasty preservatives.

Now you can find me eating homemade oatmeal every morning. Here’s my usual mix:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup non-fat milk
  • strawberries, blueberries, peaches, bananas (or whatever fresh fruit I have on hand)
  • 1/2 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 tbsp flax seed
  • plenty of cinnamon
  • dash of nutmeg (but only when I add pumpkin in the mix)
  • sprinkling of granola (I need a good homemade recipe – anyone have any good suggestions?)

There are plenty of other amazing oatmeal suggestions out there or just get creative! And if you think oatmeal is not your thing try it again, but this time with all the fixings. It will change your mind about breakfast – I promise!

What’s your favorite breakfast?

This entry was posted in Deliciously Addicting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oatmeal, it’s what all the cool kids are doing

  1. Oh, om nom. Oatmeal topped with fresh bread sounds *amazing*. My usual breakfast is coffee–I’m bad, bad, bad.

  2. I wish I was in to oatmeal, but I’m not! When I do eat it, it’s steel cut oats usually. When I tried the Kath method, I ended up gaining weight because I basically wanted to dump a coffee cake muffin and a huge blob of peanut butter in my oats everyday. I know that’s not what she does, but my translation was a little off.

    My favorite breakfast is an egg white and cheese sandwich with veggie sausage, or a bagel thin with cream cheese and fruit.

  3. Sarah says:

    I am totally with you – I wish I had known the wonders of oatmeal earlier in my life! I made some with just peanut butter and jelly the other day – oh myyyyyyyy.

Leave a Reply

