How to Love your Shoulders

If someone were to ask me my favorite physical trait I would say my shoulders. Well I would also say my smile (thanks Mom for those genes!) but you can’t really tone up your smile – just work with what you got and use it ALL the time 😀

The first time I really started loving my shoulders was when I started lifting weights. I hadn’t really noticed them much before, but then after I started going to Body Pump classes they instantly became my favorite feature. Strong and lean, with a dash of I’ll kick your butt if you don’t listen to me feel about them. My upper body also tends to build muscle quicker than my lower half (thanks Dad for those arm muscle genes!). I mean I would love great legs and tiny hips, but that make-up wasn’t in my blueprint. So I gotta work with what I got, right?

(Friends remind me of these statements when I am venting about hating my butt and thighs, because you know I will. Thanks.)

My shoulders were also looking pretty fierce for my wedding.

All photography courtesy of Nathaniel Thompson Photography http://www.nathanielthompson.com/

Oh I loved that day.

I had the luck of working with two fabulous trainers for 8 weeks before my wedding, and they worked me into shape! I met with them twice a week where we did plyometrics, weights, and cardio for 1 hour (I will write a post about my favorite moves). I also had to keep a food diary and work out on my own for 3-4 times during the week. And while I didn’t lose much weight (I think it was 2 lbs) I lost 6 inches off my entire frame! And it made me feel so confident, which I think shows in the photos and how I remember the day.

But sadly I couldn’t keep that fit figure forever. I definitely tried, but with comprehensive exams, dissertation proposal, classes, and the fact I didn’t have a trainer anymore I ended up putting back on those 6 inches I lost. Which is why I was so excited to see Lisa at I’m an Okie to encourage people to join a 100 push-up Challenge!  Yes I might be crazy but I actually like push-ups. I mean not in the middle of when I’m doing them, but when I see that I can do more than I think I could.

If you are interested, go on over to the website, complete the initial test, and then follow the training schedule. I could do 26 in a row to start, so I’ll be working on week 3. So if I follow their plan, in 4 weeks I’ll be able to do 100 push-ups in a row!

Anyone else want to join the Challenge? I need all the motivation I can get!

If shoulders aren’t your thing, was is your favorite physical feature?

This entry was posted in How To..., Inspiration, Santa Barbara and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Love your Shoulders

  1. c-tina says:

    You know, I started this challenge a couple years ago, and made it to week 4 after having to repeat a couple of weeks, but ended up getting so busy that I didn’t have time for it anymore and hadn’t finished it. 😦 For the past 6 months I’ve been wanting to start this challenge again so maybe I will knowing that you are doing it too.

Leave a Reply

