Dust Bunnies

Tomorrow my mom and Mickey (who I can say her husband this year!) are coming into town. It has become tradition for the past 4 years for them to fly out to Santa Barbara and spend Thanksgiving week here with us in our little abode. It is one of my favorites weeks of the year because it involves all the things I love. My family, food, lots of hiking, great conversation, and of course copious amounts of pie 😉 And if you haven’t gotten your pie fill on this website yet (see here and here) head on over to Savvy Eats and check out Julie’s beautiful Pear & Vanilla Brown Butter Pie. Yummy!

But before this glorious week begins, cleaning was in order. This weekend consisted of a top-to-bottom house cleaning. Yes I have officially become an adult because my Saturday and Sunday included lots of one-on-one time with Mr. Swifer, Miss. Windex, and Lady Toilet Bowl Cleaner. Sadly none of them are great conversationalists just good workers.

Source krazycouponlady.com

This was not the wipe the countertops, take out the garbage, and straighten the throw pillows type of clean. This was a hands on my knees, scrubbing till my arm hurts type of house cleaning. The kind that makes you a little disturbed that you haven’t cleaned like this in a long, long time.

And don’t go pretending like you don’t know what I’m talking about. You know the feeling when you look under the bed and see a colony of dust bunnies who have apparently reproduced other dust bunny babies. And then there is always the dead bug in the mix which makes me wonder why there are huge spiders hanging out under my bed??? Creepy…well not that creepy if they looked like this:

Source nutandbee.com

You see I like things to look neat, tidy, and uncluttered. Which is why I’m constantly throwing away receipts, moving my husband’s nick-knacks into random cupboards, and why I love baskets, boxes, and other organizational devices. My adviser even makes fun of me because my chapstick is placed perfectly upright in it’s designated spot on my desk. How else would I know where to turn when my lips are feeling chapped?

I get a physical sensation of happiness when I see things in order. I’ve been like this as long as I can remember. For example, I would get anxious seeing all the boys running in the mud during recess just knowing that mud was going to be trekked into the classroom. Or being the kid who wanted to clean up the pillow fort after we were finished playing in it. I even color coordinated my Barbie’s clothing and shoes in my little caboodle. Yes I have issues, I know.

Source naturemoms.com

 

But thankfully liking things neat and clean isn’t that bad of a personality trait. For instance I know Hoarders is never going to be calling me up for a guest spot on the show. And you won’t EVER find mold growing on dishes in my kitchen sink. And I can quickly find the purple shirt I’m wanting to wear because obviously my closet is color coordinated. Neurotic? Why of course. But don’t we all need to be a little crazy?

Any other neat freaks out there? or do people like me drive you crazy? 😉

This entry was posted in Neurotic? Why yes I am and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dust Bunnies

  1. I really like to keep things clean, but I’m not super organized. Behind the scenes there is a lot of stuff that I know I need to work thorough. Can I also say that I love how your source on that cleaning supplies picture was from krazycouponlady.com? LOL

  2. Kt says:

    I was pretty much the EXACT same until law school. And thank goodness I let go of it a bit because now with a baby, there just isn’t time and I would be a mess if I cared as much as I used to!

Leave a Reply

