Sweet Tarts

Here’s a secret…

the best cooking happens when you’re least expecting it.

That could probably be said about everything in life. When I go into something with no expectations just a smile on my face and an open mind, good things usually transpire. Like the night I met my husband I had no expectations just a good feeling about the night.

It was the Wednesday before Easter 2004 and I didn’t have any classes until the following Monday. So I curled up on the couch watching some girlie movie, hot chocolate in hand, perfectly content. Then my friend Megan called me up gleefully requesting (she had several glasses of sangria at this point) I come meet her out for her 21st birthday celebration. I hesitated since I was so comfortable inside my house, but then thought better of it because (a) she’s my good friend, and (b) who doesn’t love a birthday celebration!

I distinctly remember thinking while getting ready, “something good is going to happen tonight.” I didn’t even look all that glammed up either, just casually dressed in jeans and a white top. I drove to Canton (are in downtown Baltimore) to meet up with the birthday girl and her family. By the time I got there she was well on her way to 21st birthday happiness. You know the kind: stumbling, laughing at everything, talking to everyone, and perhaps falling down some stairs (I can say these things now because she’s my sister-in-law).

While Megan was off chatting with the bartender about why he needs to play more Journey, I started striking up a conversation with her brother Mike. We talked about everything from traveling around Europe, to our favorite bands, to what types of dogs we like. We talked so much that we actually forgot about Megan and then realized she had decided to take some shots with some “new friends.” So we took her home which led to us talking even more after we put her to bed. I knew this was pretty rare to get along so easily with someone. He was just so kind, nice, funny, and cute! Definitely not like the other guys I had met through college night outs. So here we are 6 1/2 years later and 1 year married…all because of one random, fabulous, unexpected encounter.

Now you are probably wondering, Lindsey you tease me with this yummy tart photo but start going into romantic storytelling, seriously can we talk food? Fine. But in my mind food and love go hand in hand. You must learn that.

Blueberry Apricot Tart

Crust (thanks to my Aunt Dot and Breadworks of Charlottesville!)

Now this was the leftover scraps from the apple pie we made for Thanksgiving, but to make a 9 inch pie you need:

  • 2 cup flour (pastry flour if you can get it)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 pound butter COLD
  • about 1/2 cup ice water

Mix flour and salt together.  Cut up butter into little pieces.  Work it into the flour with a pastry blender or a fork.  You want the butter/flour mixture to be coarse (make sure you have incorporated the butter as evenly as possible through the flour without it melting/getting too soft). Gradually add the ice water (it’s gotta be cold to keep the butter from melting) into the flour/butter stuff just until you can form a ball.

Filling (for a small 3.5 inch tart dish)

  • 3/4 cup blueberries
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons apricot preserves
  • sprinkle of salt, flour, and cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup pecan granola

Mix berries, sugar, preserves, salt, flour, and cinnamon together. Top with granola.

You can just triple the filling recipe for a 9 inch dish. Or make a bunch of little individual tarts. You just want enough sugar and jelly in the mix to gel the blueberries together.

Wonderful blend of the tart berries and sweet jam combined with the buttery crust. Perfect for a brunch or a holiday dessert! Let’s just say this didn’t last long at my house. And I think all who partook in the tart wished it was in a larger version.

And remember “stay open, who knows when lightening could strike” 😉

This entry was posted in Deliciously Addicting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sweet Tarts

  1. Dot says:

    Adding preserves is a great idea! What made you think of it? I think you’re well on your way to being a real cook/baker. Keep it up.

  2. I actually have no idea where I got the preserves idea. I think the jar was just sitting next to the blueberries in the fridge and I figured we couldn’t go wrong with some more fruit flavor.

  3. Suzanne Preis says:

    Sounds delicious…love the post about you and Mike.

  4. Kristin says:

    precious!

  5. This looks heavenly! And I love your story 🙂

Leave a Reply

