Space Cadet

Have you ever completely spaced out and forgotten something or forgot somewhere you needed to be?

Via netjoy.wordpress.com

I did, yesterday. Completely and utterly forgot an important meeting I was supposed to attend with a professor. I only realized this 3 hours after the fact because I was writing the date down. And then it clicked, Dec 7th I was supposed to have a meeting at 1pm. Shit.

I went through all the stages of freak-outed-ness

  1. Scream profanities to self and computer
  2. Look at calendar and planner several times to fully realize yes you missed it!
  3. Mumble more profanities while walking next door to tell friend that yes in fact I am a space cadet and she should never rely on me for anything anymore
  4. Attempt to go to professor’s office to see if he might still be there. He isn’t. More profanity mumbling.
  5. Write apologetic email basically saying I am an idiot and that my first child is his if he forgives me for this heinous crime (OK that didn’t get said but there was a lot of grovelling).
  6. Continue to stew in my personal frustration while eating chocolate (chocolate really helps at a time like this).
  7. Decide to get sorry self to the gym because endorphins cure all.
  8. Post workout everything is back into perspective.

I thought of a million reasons why I forgot this meeting…. the fact it is finals’ week, I’ve started a new allergy medication, my typical Tuesday meeting got moved around in my schedule, I was so immersed in my dissertation I can’t think straight, I’m trying to stay on top of my Xmas shopping, the Ravens lost to the Steelers on Sunday (damn you Big Ben!), the moon wasn’t aligned with Jupiter, I was wearing a purple sweater, the humidity was at 52% or….. I didn’t look at my planner yesterday morning.

Via chaosfairy.com

I don’t know who this woman is but I prefer the tooth fairy to come visit me not this crazy lady.

It was a combination of reason why I completely spaced and all of them are pretty valid (alright maybe not some of them). Basically I just made a mistake, and thankfully one that doesn’t have huge consequences to it. I am probably beating myself up way worse than the professor ever could. Lesson learned. Now go check your planner to see if you have any important deadlines!

Have you had a similar experience?

This entry was posted in I ♥ Grad School, Neurotic? Why yes I am. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Space Cadet

  1. Jocelyn says:

    Um, yes! I fairly recently completely forgot about supervision and had my supervisor call my while I was browsing the sale rack at Anthropologie!

  2. Kristin says:

    Um I basically don’t remember the last 3 1/2 years. Grad school definitely does not make us smarter. And remember that one time last summer I was supposed to meet with Mike & Sukkyung and I was getting my hair done. It happens to the best of us (all of us), lady.

  3. Jenna says:

    Don’t be so hard on yourself! You’re not supposed to be thinking about this anymore! You are usually so on top of things and so organized, and everyone knows it, so you are allowed mistakes in life 🙂

Leave a Reply

