It’s December and I’m hot

 

Unlike the rest of the country, Southern California is going through a little heat wave. Yesterday it was in the 80s and today in the 70s. I actually have on shorts and flip flops while listening to Christmas music right now. And while I love the warm temps and the chance to wear my summer dresses all year long I also get thrown off by the lack of seasons in Santa Barbara.

I grew up in Baltimore, a place that has all 4 seasons. Winter is cold and snowy, spring is rainy with flowers in bloom, summer is hot and humid, and fall is, well just beautiful.

Santa Barbara on the other hand doesn’t really have distinct seasons. The temperature sort of just floats in the 60s and 70s during the day and 50s at night. Winter is actually the best time of year here because the sky is this amazing blue, there is a little chill in the air, and no humidity to be found. If there is a season here it would be summer because we get “May gray” and “June gloom” where the fog hovers in the skyline for most of the day and often won’t clear until the afternoon.

 

Now a lot of people may disagree with me, but I miss the seasons. I miss it getting really hot in the summer to the point you are dying to jump in the pool or swim in the ocean. Or the cold, snowy winter nights that make you want to curl up by a fire sipping hot chocolate. And I always loved when spring would appear after those dreary winter months. I’ve never seen people get more excited for the temps to hit 50! Flip flops quickly replaced boots, peacoats were put away for the next year, and everyone was yearning to be outside. And of course Fall, my favorite season of all. Everyone gears up to go back to school (at least for me since it’s what I’ve been doing for 22 years). I love whipping out the scarves, boots, and vests from my closet.

There is something reassuring about the constant change. Yes there are parts of summer I despise, the humidity mostly (curly hair does not do well in 100% humidity). And winter can go on for longer than I would choose. But these reasons make the other months so enjoyable!

Right now I’m constantly thinking, wait is it April? October? July? Oh it’s December? Could have fooled me! It throws off my internal time clock. Without season markers I have trouble knowing when it’s a new year. Everything just muddles together. So it’s not like, hot weather = schools out, finals are done. It’s more like 70 weather = just another day that you should be working on your dissertation.

You may not agree and that’s OK. I know some people might just want to chuck a shoe at my head because I’m yammering on about a warm December. I love the beautiful SB weather, I mean it’s paradise. But sometimes the sweet doesn’t taste so sweet without the sour.

 

This entry was posted in Santa Barbara and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s December and I’m hot

  1. Lindsay Ann says:

    I totally agree with you! I’m from Montana and it just doesn’t feel like Christmas without snow!

  2. Kristin says:

    pshhhh we’ll see if you still feel that way next december/january when you’re snowed in and i’m on a beach walk!

  3. Pingback: Being a Grinch | The Morningstar Project

Leave a Reply

