Running Start

I can’t even count the number of times I’ve told people “I’m not a runner.”

Kickboxing, spinning, weight lifting, pilates, and even a little yoga I can do. In fact I love doing all those things. Running, however, always falls in the uncomfortable category. Not because I can’t run but because I get easily intimated by runners.

In September I tried to squash those fears by running my first 5K. It was a total success and a wonderful experience! But after the event I went back to my old favorite workouts and running got put to the side.

Last week a coworker who ran the 5K with me told me I should run the Santa Barbara Wine Country Half Marathon. I smiled and said that sounded fun, but secretly was thinking Um, no thanks. Just not my thing.

But then I got to talking to my gym buddy Jessica and my favorite gym instructor Kayla about the event. They both were already planning on signing up, and Kayla really liked the idea of signing up as part of a team. She said she would organize a weekly running group and help train all of us. So in a matter of minutes I found myself signing up as a part of a 12 person team for my first half marathon!

I should note that Kayla is insanely ripped, teaches the hardest spin classes I’ve ever attended, and works out probably 3 times a day. She’s my fitness hero. And she’s one of the nicest people I’ve ever met. Basically she says Jump and I say How High? So the idea of training for something that totally intimidates me with my fitness ideal was too good to pass up!

Right now I’m feeling excited, nervous, invigorated, and so ready to get this booty back in tip-top shape! I think this face sums it up:

As a first time half marathoner, any advice?

What’s the last thing you tried that pushed you out of your comfort zone?

This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Running Start

  1. jawsome says:

    Enjoy yourself! I love going out on long long runs by myself, but I’m a bit of a weirdo. So, if you can find a group to run with, go for it! A group will push you when you might otherwise slack off, and you will also feel more accountable to get those miles in. Don’t overdo it at first, try to run on trails as much as possible to avoid pounding, and practice on similar terrain at a similar pace to your race. Good luck!

    • Thanks so much for the running tips! I wish I could just go for long runs to clear my head, but I totally psych myself out before I even start. I think this group will help me push past my personal hurdles and go for longer distances than what I would do alone.

  2. WOOHOOO!! This will be an awesome experience! Check out Hal Higdon’s training plans. His approach makes the training less daunting and it works!

  3. Sarah says:

    Oh my gosh, SO EXCITED FOR YOU! The only advice I can give for you is to listen to your body and stretch a lot!

  4. Monica says:

    How exciting!

    While I have never ran a half-marathon, the biggest piece of advice that I have ever seen is stretch and cross train. I now put on my spin shoes to stretch my calves after running and then use a foam roller and “the stick” to work on muscle knots before they get too bad.

    I am excited to see how your training goes!

  5. Jen says:

    I want in the running group! Keep me posted. If I can keep my overuse-injury-prone body healthy, I would love to run my first half marathon with you, too! ❤

Leave a Reply

