Chocolate Peppermint Bark

Do you ever wake up wanting to bake?

I did Tuesday morning. Problem was I didn’t know what to make. And I didn’t want to make anything too complicated because I wanted to immediate feedback of a successful dessert. Hey, I just went through finals so I need something easy!

Christmas cookies? Nah everyone brings those in.

Another pie? I wasn’t in a dough making emotional state….yes there is a pie-making mindset that exists.

Brownies? Oh I know I would eat those all myself. Not good.

And then I remembers the chocolate bark recipe I read in the latest issue of Food Network Magazine. Perfect.

Chocolate Peppermint Marshmallow Bark

(based on Food Network Magazine recipe)

Step 1. Line a baking sheet with foil, shiny-side up.

Step 2. Pick your chocolate. I used 1lb semi-sweet chocolate. You can also use bittersweet, white, or a combo mix. You just need 1lb total.

Step 3. Melt the chocolate (This is easier than you think!) Place all but 1 cup of chocolate in a microwave-safe bowl. Microwave on high for 30 sec, then stir. Keep heating, stirring until all the chocolate is melted. Don’t overdo it because burnt chocolate is the worst! Add the remaining 1 cup of chocolate and stir into the melted portion. Combine until everything is melted (it’s ok if there are some bumps left).

Step 4. Spread the chocolate out on your baking sheet until it is about 1/2 inch thick.

Step 5. Add your toppings! I added crushed candy canes, mini marshmallows and a sprinkle of cinnamon.

Step 6. Let cool for at least 1 hour. Once solid break into pieces.

This is probably the EASIEST recipe I have ever followed! It is perfect to bring to any holiday party, wrap up and give as gifts to co-workers, or just admire your handiwork from the comfort of your living room.

And just think Crate & Barrel literally charges $15.95 for their holiday peppermint bark! You however can make your own, get tons of compliments, and feel like a perfect hostess all without turning on your oven.

And don’t forget the best part…..

Have a good weekend everyone!

This entry was posted in Deliciously Addicting, How To... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Peppermint Bark

  1. Lindsay Ann says:

    Just noticed your new header….super cute!

  2. We’re on the same wavelength with easy yet delicious treats! I can’t wait to try this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

