Being a Grinch

I hate to do this the week of Christmas but I need to complain for a second.

Just real quick, I promise. Then tomorrow I’ll jump right back into the holiday spirit.

Today was just was one of those days.

It’s day 3 of the rainstorm in Santa Barbara. I partially feel responsible for this awful weather since I complained about it being “too hot” last week. God sure does have a good sense of humor.

Today I also really, really needed to get some laundry done. Mike didn’t have any more work shirts and I was down to my last gym clothes (and they were the ones I probably should have thrown away last year). The laundry situation was even more needed today because we’re leaving this week to fly back home for the holidays.

This wouldn’t be so much of a problem if not for the fact we don’t have a washer and dryer in our apartment. Instead I have to lug my loads of laundry to my apartment’s laundry complex…in the rain.

There are a lot of things I’ve done in the rain: swimming in the ocean, playing outside as a child, kissing a high school boyfriend (in my old age I don’t kiss my husband in the rain but back then it felt very romantic ;)), and lots of running to and from my car in the rain. But laundry was a new one. Turns out you get to dress like a total crazy person when you do laundry in the pouring down rain:

This picture is deceiving because I look kind of excited to be doing laundry in the rain.

It was actually more like this:

Soaking wet sneakers

Oh it was a blast! And don’t forget the waiting in the sterile laundry room.

I found a little friend to hang out with though. He had seen better days too.

This whole experience running back and forth in the rain was just made even more joyous with the realization that my rain jacket is falling apart. The lining is literally crumbling off the shell of the jacket. What the heck North Face?? Don’t you love how you learn these things when you’re in the middle of a rainstorm?

I also noticed my brand new wreath was falling apart. Literally got it a month ago at Target! They should all be red berries, not white and red balls. The red wrapping on the balls apparently doesn’t take to kindly to the rain and dripped off the wreath like wax on a candle. And this lovely disaster was left all over my doorstep.

Target I have a bone to pick with you now….

Then things started looking up. 8 loads of laundry were done, folded, and put away nicely. Now I was ready for a yummy lunch. I was in the mood for soup, but as luck would have it just as I sat down the soup went all over me, the couch, and throw pillows. Awesome.

Let’s just say my husband is one very lucky man he had to work today. He owes me BIG time.

This entry was posted in Neurotic? Why yes I am, People doing dumb things. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Being a Grinch

  1. Sarah says:

    Oh my gosh! Your husband owes you a new pair of shoes … or a massage … or something. What a day …

  2. Laura says:

    Tough day, friend. When it rains it pours (sorry for the pun)…
    Heard you’re getting a ton of water out there…I’ll trade you for the 15 degree wind chill :-/

  3. AWWW! What a terrible horrible no good very bad day! 😦

  4. Sorry you had a rough day! Taking laundry out in the rain certainly sounds like a poor experience.

  5. Monica says:

    Sorry you had such a ruff day! Hopefully things improved the next day.

    I agree that doing laundry in the rain is the pits. That was me on Saturday morning and it sucked running up and down two flights of stairs in the rain.

  6. Pingback: It’s a Love/Hate Thing | The Morningstar Project

Leave a Reply

