What to get the kids?

Kids can be surprisingly tricky to buy holiday gifts for. Take my two nieces, Cate and Caroline. That’s my niece Caroline above in a sea of Christmas gifts, majority are probably for her. Do we think she might be a little spoiled? 😉

So what do you get kids who have just about anything you could imagine already?

You have to get creative. And thankfully I read a lot of blogs by other people who are really creative and like sharing their ideas! I saw this read DIY Christmas gift idea on Then Heather Said that she made for her nephew. So simple and so cute that I knew I had to make them for Cate for Christmas!

Alphabet Blocks

What you need:

  • Wooden blocks
  • Mod Podge glue
  • Variety of colored paper
  • Paper Cutter
  • Stick-on letters

Step 1. Get as many wooden blocks as you need. I got enough I spell out Cate’s full name, which ended up being 14 blocks total. I found mine at Michael’s and they were only 99 cents each.

Step 2. Pick at least 6 different paper patterns to place on each side of the blocks. I went super girlie since the blocks are for my niece. The more fun patterns the better!

Step 3. Cut the paper to fit the sides. You want it exact so measure it before!

Step 4. Use a brush and lightly paint a layer of the Mod Podge on the wood. Pick a colored paper and press it firmly down on each side. Then add another thin layer of glue on top of the paper.

Step 5. When dry pick your letters and stick on. I found these green felt stickers, aren’t they cute?? Side note: the blocks will take a while to dry so give yourself plenty of time. I think mine took about an 1 hour and were still slightly sticky until the next day.

I ended up spelling out her name on the one side and “I Love You” on the opposite side. This will give her lots of letters to play around with and spell out other fun things as she gets older. I’ll probably put some animal figurines or little dolls with the gift to make it more fun and interactive.

This was a super fun project and so easy! And even if you claim you don’t have a crafty bone in your body, you really can’t screw this one up. And if you do, who cares! Little kids don’t care about little mistakes you make along the way. Also you can give these blocks for any holiday or celebration. A baby shower gift would be absolutely adorable. Or you could spell out any holiday, like St Patrick’s Day, and place them on your mantel. Lot’s of possibilities.

All it takes some patience and a little creativity…..and voila! A wonderful, personalized gift for your favorite child who-already-has-everything 😉

What are you getting the little ones in your life for the holidays?

This entry was posted in How To... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What to get the kids?

  1. Jenna says:

    So cute!!!!! Such a good idea! I love Mod Podge!

  2. Heather says:

    they turned out BEAUTIFULLY!

  3. Monica says:

    What a cute gift idea! And very creative.

  4. Dot says:

    Kids who have everything need to be introduced to the concept of Shuvunda.

  5. Christine O' says:

    who knew you were so crafty and me – a thief! steeling this to give to my niece and nephew 😉

  6. What a special gift!

    I got my nephew a Lightning McQueen power wheels. Totally crazy and over the top, but we figured this might be one of the last x-mas’ where we don’t have our own kids, so might as well spoil the only little one in our lives!

Leave a Reply

